I said hey, what’s going on

This is my first entry in four years…I have some catching up to do!

foreverroyal

As I’ve mentioned, I have a rare neurological disorder known as intracranial hypertension. One of the many side effects that I’ve had to suffer was that I was slowly losing the use of my right arm. I was oftentimes unable to do simple tasks like brush my own hair, pour milk, even hold my purse or fairly light objects in my right hand. The strength in my hand would just give out and I would have to drop things I was holding. My arm was just too weak.

Being on large amounts of various medications also doesn’t help – I had had high blood pressure prior to my diagnosis, but the medications that I ended up on actually raised my blood pressure even more (typical blood pressure for me was well over 200) and I was prescribed a triad of high blood pressure meds that worked together to control it. On average, I was taking nearly 15-20 pills per day.

I knew that I had to do something about my health – I wasn’t gaining anymore, but I was holding steady right around 200 pounds and it wasn’t going anywhere. I had trouble getting from point A to point B because I was always so tired.

Ironically, what’s been my biggest motivator has been my workmates. I started a new job in March of this year. About a month later (right at two months ago!), everyone got into a health kick and they brought in trainers Sean and Kendra from Freight House Fitness to talk to us.

In a word, Sean and Kendra are awesome. I felt immediately relaxed and comfortable with them. They invited us to come and try their gym. Several of us did and still, two months later, an average group of about four to five of us still go every day. This kind of accountability is incredibly motivating and makes me want to go each day. I get in about two to three days each week.

Since starting my Freight House membership, I’ve lost over 16 pounds and have completely overhauled the way I look at food and my diet in general (sugar is almost cut out of my life now). That’s a whole separate post.

My arm feels almost normal (it’s not 100%, but pretty close). I’m down to three pills a day and my blood pressure has stayed in check. I did end up busting my knee falling out of a Bronco after my first week and that’s held me back a little bit, but it’s almost healed (man, knee injuries are the worst!)…but I’ve also started the Zombies Run 5K program with my daughter (which has been a blast!).

So, that’s my “in a nutshell” update – more to come!

Leave a comment